Accrington v Blackburn Park Road 6-4 (Lancashire Cup: April 23, 1881)

April 23, 1881
Match: Lancashire Cup, Final, at Barley Bank (Darwen), kick-off: 15:20.
Accrington – Blackburn Park Road 6-4 (2-1).
Attendance: 4,000.
Referee: Mr. W. Peirce-Dix (Sheffield); Umpires: Messrs. Charles Smith (Great Harwood) and D. Haslam (Bolton).
Accrington (2-2-6): Roger Howarth, William John Whittaker, James Hindle, William Latham, Denis Talbot (C), Joseph Pickup Hartley, J. Lonsdale, J. Yates, R. Horne, William Eastham, T. French.
Blackburn Park Road (2-2-6): J. McQuirk, J. Holden, E. Hopwood, T. McQuirk (C), J. Broadley, W. Brown, J. Nuttall, W. Whalley, J. Pickup, J. Cunliffe, W.H. Knowles.
The goals: 1-0 Hartley  (15 min.), 2-0 Yates, 2-1 Cunliffe (44 min.), 2-2 Nuttall, 3-2 Hartley, 3-3 Knowles, 4-3 Horne, 5-3 Eastham, 5-4 Brown, 6-4 French.

Forty-three clubs entered the competition at the beginning of the season, and they were paired as follows: –
First round:
Great Harwood v Liverpool 9-0; Nunn Nook v Bootle 3-1; Eagley v Church 5-2; Witton v Bolton All Saints’ 3-1; Padiham v Lower Darwen 4-2; Star of England v Cloughfold 2-0; Blackburn Perseverance v Bolton Hornets 4-0; Great Lever v Everton 7-1; Park Road (Blackburn) v Blackpool 3-2; Accrington v Astley Bridge 3-1; Brinscall v Halliwell 1-0; Lower Chapel (Darwen) v Blackburn Olympic, after a draw, 2-1; Enfield v Middleton 6-0; Clitheroe v Manchester Wanderers on walk over; Christ Church (Blackburn) v Westhoughton 3-1; Blackburn Rovers v Bradshaw 6-0; Darwen v Haslingden Grane 9-0; Turton v Preston North End 6-1; Bolton Wanderers v Irwell Springs (Bacup) 7-1; Bolton Olympic v Rising Sun (Blackburn) 5-3; Cox Green v Rishton 6-2; Barrow Rangers, a bye.

Second round:
Turton v Barrow Rangers, a walk-over; Darwen v Star of England 6-1; Blackburn Rovers v Clitheroe 3-0; Eagley v Lower Chapel 5-0; Witton v Nunn Nook 3-2; Great Lever v Bolton Olympic 3-2; Accrington v Padiham 4-1; Park-road  Brinscall 3-0; Bolton Wanderers v Great Harwood 2-0; Enfield v Blackburn Perseverance 2-1; Cox Green v Christ Church 2-1.

Third round:
Blackburn Rovers v Turton 6-1; Accrington v Witton 6-2; Enfield v Eagley 3-2; Bolton Wanderers v Great Lever 3-2; Park-road v Cox Green 2-1; Darwen, a bye.

Fourth round:
Accrington v Enfield 5-1; Park-road v Bolton Wanderers, after a draw, 6-1; Darwen v Blackburn Rovers, not played, and both clubs were disqualified.

Final tie:
Accrington v Park-road (Blackburn) 6-4.
(Athletic News: April 27, 1881)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.