Meeting of the Football Association (August 29, 1892)

August 29, 1892
A meeting of the council of this association took place at the head offices, 61, Chancery Lane, London, last evening, under the chairmanship of Mr. J.C. Clegg. Mr. J.C. Clegg was elected chairman of the council for the ensuing year, whilst the secretary reported that the following had been elected unopposed to the council for the ensuing season: –

Division 1: Tom Watson;
Division 4: C.J. Hughes;
Division 5: L. Ford;
Division 6: John James Bentley;
Division 6: D.R. Woolfall;
Division 8: C. Wreford Brown;
Division 9: F. Bickley.

In the other divisions the following were elected:
Division 2: R.J. Smith;
Division 3: Edwin Browne;
Division 10: G.W. Prale.

The council passed a resolution that it was desirable to institute a cup open for competition to amateur clubs under the control and management of the Association. The secretary reported that the following had qualified to represent their respective affiliated associations: – William Macgregor (Birmingham), M.J. Roberts (Derbyshire), Robert Edward Lythgoe (Liverpool), D. Haigh (Sheffield and Hallamshire), R.P. Gregson (Lancashire), W. Lickfold (Hants), N.L. Jackson (London), A.G. Hinds (Nottingham), Jack Howcroft (Cleveland), T.G. Ashmole (Leicestershire), P. Cooke (Sussex and Essex), and G. Hall (Northumberland).

The draw for the Cup then took place with the following results: –
First Division: Bishop Auckland Town v Seaham Harbour, Southwick v Gateshead, Northeastern Tow Low v Ashington, Blyth v Shankhouse, Sunderland Albion v Willington Athletic, Rendel and Mickley byes.

Second Division: Whitby v Stockton, Darlington v Scarborough, Rothwell v Scarborough Rangers, Harwoth v West Hartlepool Rovers, Lofthouse, South Bank, Darlington, St. Augustine’s, and Port Clarence byes.

Third Division: Preliminary round: West Manchester v Halliwell, Fleetwood Rangers v Ardwick. Round proper: Stockport v West Manchester or Halliwell, Heywood Central v Blackpool, Barrow v Fairfield, North Meols v Oswaldtwistle Rovers, Bury v Southport Central, South Shore v Rossendale, Fleetwood Rangers or Ardwick v Workington, Ashton-under-Lyme v Higher Walton.

Fourth Division: Rotherham Town v Grantham Rovers, Gainsborough Trinity v Chesterfield, Grantham v Belper, Greenhalgh Incorporated v Eckington Works, Attercliffe v Grimsby Town, Doncaster Rovers v Mansfield, Kilnhurst v Sheffield, Lincoln City v Newark.

Fifth Division: Matlock v Heanor Town, Loughborough v Riddingham, Kimberley v Sutton-in-Ashfield, Kettering v Langley Mills, Leicester v Rushden, Wellingborough Town v Rushden Victoria, Beeston v Gedling Grove, Notts Olympic v Findon Revellers.

Sixth Division: Old Hill Wanderers v Wednesbury Old Athletic, Ironbridge v Burton Wanderers, Burslem Port Vale v Burton Swifts, Derby Junction v Walsall Town Swifts, Stonebridge v Crewe Alexandra, Hereford v Hednesford Town, Brierley Hill Alliance v Wellington St. George’s, Leek v Long Eaton Rangers.

Seventh Division: Rhos v Prescot, Liverpool Caledonians v Wrexham, Newtown v Tranmere Rovers, Nantwich v Liverpool, Barnton Rovers v Flint, Bootle v Gorton Vale, Stanley v Chester, Northwich Victoria v Macclesfield.

Eight Division: Cowes v Swindon Town, St. Mary’s (Southampton) v Newbury, Bristol St. George’s v Chesham, Great Marlow v Somerset Rovers, Warmley v Windsor and Eton, Chesham Generals v Maidenhead, Reading v Clifton, Uxbridge v Bedminster.

Ninth Division: Preliminary round: Old Wykehamists v Old Harrovians, Old Etonians v Norwich C.E.T.M.S., Old Westminsters v Thorpe (Norwich). Round proper: Hunts County v Swifts, Surbiton Hill v Polytechnic, Old Westminsters or Thorpe (Norwich) v Old Brightonians, Wolverton v Casuals, Old Etonians or Norwich C.E.T.M.S. v First Battalion Sherwood Foresters, Old Wykehamists or Old Harrovians v Ipswich, Luton Town v Old St. Mark’s, West Herts v Crusaders.

Tenth Division: Second West Kent v Chatham, Crouch End v Sheppey United, City Ramblers v Old Cranleighans, Royal Arsenal v Highland Light Infantry, Ilford v Erith, Folkstone v Millwall Athletic, Maidstone v Ashford, Clapton v Rochester.

Preliminary round to be played on October 1 and round proper on October 15. The first named club in each instance has choice of ground. Kick-off at 3.30 p.m.

Prescot, Stalybridge Rovers, Middleton Singers, Sutton-in-Ashfield, Hollinwood, and Royton were elected members.

Mr. Clegg’s proposition, that no professional player should, whilst under suspension by the council for breach of rules be entitled to receive any wages or money from his club without the consent of the council, was carried.
(Source: Liverpool Mercury: August 30, 1892)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.