Liverpool draw Newtown in the FA Cup

October 20, 1892
The draw for the second qualifying competition for the Association Cup, took place at the Victoria Hotel in Wolverhampton last night.

The following is the complete draw:
Division 1: Shankhouse v Wellington Athletic; Kendal v Southwick or Gateshead; Bishop Auckland v Mickley; Tow Low v Leadgate Park.

Division 2: South Bank v Stockton; Darlington v St. Augustine’s; Hurworth v. Rothwell; Port Clarence v Lofthouse.

Division 3: Blackpool v Oswaldtwistle Rovers; South Shore or Rossendale v Barrow; Higher Walton v Fleetwood Rangers; Bury v Stockport County or Halliwell.

Division 4: Gainsborough Trinity or Chesterfield v Belper; Greenhalgh v Lincoln City or Newark; Kilnhurst or Sheffield Club v Rotherham or Grantham Rovers; Doncaster Rovers v Grimsby.

Division 5: Loughborough v Matlock or Heanor; Leicester Fosse v Notts Olympic; Kimberley v Buxton; Kettering v Beeston.

Division 6: Leek v Burton Swifts; Walsall Town Swifts v Stourbridge; Burton Wanderers v Brierley Hill; Hednesford v Wednesbury Old Athletic.

Division 7: Northwich Victoria v Flint; Bootle v Liverpool Caledonians; Liverpool v Newtown; Chester v Prescot.

Division 8: Bristol St. George’s v Great Marlow; Swindon v Warmsley St. Mary’s; Southampton v Maidenhead; Uxbridge v Reading.

Division 9: Swifts or Hunt’s College v Polytechnic; Casuals v Crusaders; Luton Town v Old Etonians; Old Westminster v Ipswich Town.

Division 10: Royal Arsenal v City Rambers; Ashford v Sheppey United.

First named club has choice of ground. Match to be played on October 29- 1892.
(Liverpool Mercury: October 21, 1892)



  1. The headline states ‘Liverpool draw Newtown in the F A Cup’ yet the printed draw in the Liverpool Mercury shows that the club drew Bootle away. Newtown were the eventual opponents but what changed? Did the Mercury make an error?

    1. Hi Alex,

      Thanks for pointing this out. I was not aware of that. It looks like a misprint and mix-up between Liverpool Caledonians and Liverpool.



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.