Wrexham v Newtown 2-0 (Welsh FA Cup final: April 19, 1897)

April 19, 1897
Match: Welsh FA Cup, Final, at Oswestry Cricket Field.
Wrexham v Newton 2-0 (0-0).
Attendance: 6,000.
Referee: Mr. Humphrey Jones (Bangor); linesmen: Messrs. Cotton and Hannaby.
Wrexham (2-3-5): David Jardine, J. Jones, A.E. Ellis, John Taylor, E. Robinson, F. Stokes, Harry Pugh, Benjamin Lewis, T.C. Davies, Billy Harrison, Alf Williams.
Newtown (2-3-5): A. Edwards, E. Rees, Charles Parry, H. Tucker, William Parry, Teddy Davies, W.E. Pryce Jones, E. Morgan, J. Miller, Jimmy Swettenham, Archie Swettenham.
The goals: 1-0 Williams, 2-0 Robinson (penalty, 87 min.).

Charles Parry, Newtown (Leeds Mercury: April 9, 1898):


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.