Participating teams in the FA Cup 1897/98

Monday, August 2 – 1897
Entries for the Football Association Cup closed on Monday, and the list is as follows: –
Aston Villa, Ashford United, Aberystwyth, Aylesbury United, Attercliffe, Accrington Stanley, Bury, Blackburn Rovers, Belper Town, Burton Wanderers, Bishop Auckland, Bristol South End, Burton Swifts, Bolton Wanderers, Barnsley, Burnley, Berkhampstead L. and N.W. Railway, Blackpool, Brentford, Bristol St. George, Blyth, Buckley Town, Beeston-Humber, Blackburn Park Road, Bulwell United, Bradford, Buxton, Bangor, Birtley, Bedminster, Berwick Rangers (Worcester), Black Diamonds (Workington), Chatham, Crewe Alexandra, Cowes, Clapton, Chesterfield Town, Chesham Generals, Clitheroe, Carlisle City, Cygnet, Coalville Albion, Crook Town, Crouch End Vampires, Chesham, Chirk, Darlington, Darwen, Derby County, Doncaster Rovers, Druids, Darlington St. Augustine’s, Dover, Dartford, Eastleigh, Eastville Rovers, Everton, Eastbourne Swifts, Eastwood Town, Fairfield, Folkestone, Finedon Revellers, First Coldstream Guards, Fleetwood Rangers, Freemantle, Grimsby Town, Gravesend United, Gainsborough Trinity, Glossop North End, Gateshead N.E.R., Gresley Rovers, Garston Copper Works, Grays United, Hebburn Argyle, Hucknall St. John’s, Hereford, Horwich, Hunslet, Halliwell Rovers, Halifax, Hinckley Town, Heanor Town, Hurst Ramblers, Hexham Excelsior, Hampstead, Ilkeston Town, Jarrow, Kettering, Kidderminster Harriers, Kilnhurst, Leicester Fosse, Lincoln City, Liverpool, Luton, Loughborough, Leyton, Leeds, Long Eaton Rangers, Llandudno Swifts, Leadgate Exiles, Langley Mill, Middlesbrough, Middleton, Maidenhead, Mexborough Metropolitan Railway, Mid Kent, Mansfield, Middlewich, Notts County, Nottingham Forest, Newcastle United, Newton Heath, New Brompton, Northfleet, Newbury, Newstead Byron, Norwich C.E.Y.M.S.A., Newark, Newport, Old St. Stephen’s, Oswaldtwistle Rovers, Oswestry United, Oxford City, Preston North End, Port Vale, Parkgate United, Queens Park Rangers, Rushden Town, Reading, Reading Amateurs, R.A. (Portsmouth), R.E. Training Battalion, Romford, Riddings, Rendel, Rochdale, Rock Ferry, Redhill, Rothwell Town Swifts, Sunderland, Sheffield Wednesday, Sheffield United, Southampton, Small Heath, Shankhouse, Stockton, South Bank, Stoke, Southport Central, Stalybridge Rovers, St. Albans, South Shore, Stockport County, Sheppey United, Seaham Harbour, Sheffield, Swindon Town, Singer’s, Stourbridge, Second Coldstream Guards, Seaham Albion, Stapleford Town, Staple Hill, St. Peter’s Albion, Sheepbridge Works, Shepshed Town, St. Paul’s (Bedminster), Swanscombe, Tottenham Hotspur, Tow Law, Third Grenadier Guards, Trowbridge Town, Thames Ironworks, Trawden Forest, Uxbridge, Upton Park, West Bromwich Albion, Woolwich Arsenal, Walsall, Wellington Town, Wellington Athletic, Warrington St. Elphins, Wolverton L. and N.W. Railway, Wath, Warmley, Weymouth, West Hartlepool, Wigan County, Watford St. Mary’s. Wrockwardine Wood, Wombwell Town.
(Lancashire Evening Post, 04-08-1897)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.