Lancashire Combination: The annual meeting of 1900

May 24, 1900
The annual meeting of the Lancashire Combination was held at the Bay Horse Hotel, Blackburn, last evening, Mr. Tom Heaton, of Burnley, presiding. The whole of the retiring officials were re-elected as follows: President, Mr. T. Heaton, Burnley; treasurer, Mr. H.S. Hamer, Bury; secretary, Mr. A.H. Downs, Bolton; committee, Messrs. Charles Sutcliffe, Burnley; W. Sheehan, Manchester; and Tom Charnley, Preston.

Mr. Sutcliffe announced that in order to stimulate the junior clubs, who had little chance of winning the championship against the strong reserve League elevens, he would offer eleven medals to the junior club occupying the highest position in the table at the end of next season.

The president presented the Cup to the champions, Liverpool. Bolton Wanderers and Leyland were re-elected without going to the ballot, and the other applicants who were chosen were St. Helens Recreation, Accrington Stanley, Oswaldtwistle Rovers and New Brighton Tower Reserves, who, with Liverpool, Preston North End, Everton, Burnley, Manchester City, Blackburn Rovers, Newton Heath, Berry’s, Bury, Blackburn Park Road, Turton, and Glossop make up the members for next season.

Padiham and Southport Central also applied, but were refused admission. Preston North End had intimated their desire to resign in order to join the Lancashire League, but their representative intimated that they would continue with the Combination.
(Source: Northern Daily Telegraph: May 25, 1900)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.