Football League meeting (July 18, 1901)

July 18, 1901
A meeting of the Management Committee of the Football League was held at the Tavistock Hotel, London, last evening, Mr. Sidney, vice-president, in the chair. There were also present: – Messrs. John Lewis (vice-president), Radford, Hart, Charles Sutcliffe, George Leavey, and Harry Lockett (secretary).

A telegram of sympathy was sent to Mr. John James Bentley, the president of the League, who was unable to attend through illness.

The following financial arrangements made between various clubs were reported and confirmed: – Derby County to pay Wolverhampton Wanderers £15 for match at Derby, December 25th; Sheffield United to pay Aston Villa £50 for alteration of dates to September 16th, at Birmingham, and January 1st, at Sheffield; Grimsby to pay Newcastle United £20 for match at Grimsby on Good Friday; West Bromwich Albion to pay Glossop £10 for match at West Bromwich, on September 2nd; Newton Heath to pay Burnley £15 for match at Newton Heath on Christmas Day; Everton to pay Aston Villa £10 for match at Everton on Christmas Day; Aston Villa to pay Manchester City £50 for match at Birmingham, om March 31st; Wolverhampton Wanderers to pay Everton £30 and Blackburn Rovers £30 for matches at Wolverhampton onm Boxing Day and Easter Monday.

Messrs. Radford and Sutcliffe were appointed Finance Committee, and Messrs. Bentley, Sidney, Lewis, and Sutcliffe were appointed to represent the Football League on the International League Board.

West Bromwich Albion and Blackpool were each fined £1 1s. for not having paid their annual subscription, the fine to be increased by £1 1s. for each week the subscription is unpaid after this date.

Charles Athersmith applied for a free transfer from Aston Villa. The application was not granted. A similar application by Willie Maxwell (Stoke) metw ith a similar decision.

Frank Chesworth (Glossop) attended and asked for a free transfer. Mr. Oliver, on behalf of Glossop, promised to give the player a free transfer.

Tom Clifford (Glossop) asked for a reduction of the fee fixed by Glossop, but the application was not acceded to.

Ayr who had communicated with the League on the matter were referred to the International Board.

Leicester Fosse asked for a reduction of the transfer fee asked by Glossop for Rab King. The committee declined to interfere.

Bristol City appeared before the committee with reference to the transfer required by them from Bolton with the reference to Rob Davies, Blackburn Rovers with reference to Peter Chambers, and Grimsby with reference with reference to Jock McLean. The transfer of the last-named was fixed at £40, the amount offered by Bristol City. Bristol agreed to pay Blackburn Rovers £100 for Chamber’s transfer – £50 to be paid the first week in October and the remaining £50 the first week in January. Davies’s case was left over to the next meeting for further negotiations between the clubs.

Burton Swifts were allowed to change their name to Burton United.

The linesmen’s list was settled.

The following transfers were approved: –
William Rae (Newcastle), to Glossop;
Jack Bell (New Brighton), to Everton;
Tommy McCairns (Lincoln City), to Barnsley;
Sam Eaton (Leicester Fosse), to Stockport County;
Bob Pollock (Third Lanark), to Notts County;
Jack Kifford (Derby County), to West Bromwich;
Archie Goldie (New Brighton), to Small Heath;
Mike Good (Small Heath), to Preston North End;
Fred Farn (Notts County), to Chesterfield;
Frank Thorpe (Newton Heath), to Bury;
Thomas Bullivard (Sheffield Wednesday), to Gainsborough;
Fred Halliday (Everton), to Bolton Wanderers;
Willie Orr (Glossop), to Manchester City;
Jimmy Reid (Burslem Port Vale), to Gainsborough;
George Smith (Preston North End), to Aston Villa;
George Henderson (Preston North End), to Nottingham Forest;
Bob Jack (Bolton Wanderers), to Preston North End;
Charles Clark (Hamilton Academicals), to Everton;
Harry Mainman (Burton), to Notts County;
Andy Gardner (Clyde), to Grimsby;
Matt Brunton (Preston North End), to Burnley;
Harry Wilcox (Small Heath), to Preston North End;
George Madden (Middlesbrough), to Stockport;
George Harris (Wolverhampton Wanderers), to Aston Villa;
William Fulton (Sunderland), to Derby County;
W.W. Newbigging (Abercorn), to Wolverhampton;
Don McCallum (Queen’s Park), to Liverpool.
(Lancashire Evening Post: July 19, 1901)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.