Liverpool’s League champions’ medals for 1905-6

December 17, 1906
Liverpool’s League team of footballers were presented on Monday evening with handsome gold medals to commemorate the club’s success in carrying off the League’s First Division championship last season. The Chairman of the club (Councillor Edwin Berry) made the presentation, and the occasion was taken advantage of to hold a splendid smoking concert at the Exchange Station Hotel.

There was a large and enthusiastic attendance of directors, shareholders and privileged friends. The musical part of the programme – in the able hands of Directors William Robert Williams and Albert Worgan, and Secretary Tom Watson – was of the best description, the artists being of first-class quality.

Mr. Berry explained that the delay in holding the gathering was due to the FA’s sanction having to be first received before the medals could be presented. All the players who had participated in five or more schedule engagements last season were awarded medals, the full list thus qualified being Alex Raisbeck, Billy Dunlop, Ned Doig, Tom Chorlton, Maurice Parry, James Bradley, George Latham, Arthur Goddard, Robert Robinson, Jack Parkinson, Joe Hewitt, John Carlin, John Cox, Sam Hardy, Alf West and Sam Raybould. The four last-named were not presented to receive their medals, but the others had a flattering reception upon stepping forward, especially skipper Raisbeck.

Trainer William Connell was also honoured with a medal, and, last but by no means least, Mr. Tom Watson. Of course, the popular Secretary made an able speech. He loved Liverpool, its club, and its players, he said. The medal just received constituted his sixth championship medals. He complimented the players on their daring and their originality in marching off with the championship of the two Divisions in successive years.

Nor were Everton forgotten, Mr. Watson congratulating Everton on their FA Cup achievement. He hoped Liverpool would also qualify as holders in the near future; also that in the course of a few years they, too, like Everton, might became wealthy and the owners outright of their ground.
(Cricket and Football Field: December 22, 1906)

Exchange Station Hotel, Liverpool.
1906 Exchange station hotel Liverpool

The Chairman, Mr. Edwin Berry.

Edwin Berry


  1. I have a gold fob watch with the inscription Liverpool FC Championships 1905-6 F. Hallatt can’t seem to find any info on the name though

    1. Hello,

      Hmm that surname is also unknown to me. The closest I can think of is Hewitt, but his first name was Joseph. I will ask around to see if anyone can help you out.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.