Sam Hardy selected for England duty

March 30, 1908
A meeting of the Scottish Football Association was held in Glasgow last night, when the following team was selected to represent Scotland against England at New Hampden Park, Glasgow, on Saturday: –
Peter McBride (Preston North End); Alex McNair (Celtic) and James Sharp (Woolwich Arsenal); Andrew Aitken (Middlesbrough), Charles Thomson (Captain, Hearts), and Peter McWilliam (Newcastle); Robert Walker (Hearts), Jimmy Howie (Newcastle), Andrew Wilson (Sheffield United), Wattie White (Bolton Wanderers), and James Quinn (Celtic). Reserves – Henry Rennis (Hibs), Agnew (Kilmarnock), Alex Gardner and Finlay Speedie (Newcastle United), May (Glasgow Rangers), Bennett (Celtic), and Lennie (Aberdeen).

The English Association Selection Committee yesterday chose the following to represent England: – Sam Hardy (Liverpool); Bob Crompton (Blackburn Rovers) and Jesse Pennington (West Bromwich Albion); Ben Warren (Derby County), Billy Wedlock (Bristol City), and Evelyn Lintott (Queen’s Park Rangers); Jack Rutherford (Newcastle United), Vivian Woodward (Tottenham Hotspur), George Hilsdon (Chelsea), Jimmy Windridge (Chelsea), and Arthur Bridgett (Sunderland). Reserves – Sam Greenhalgh (Bolton) and Frank Bradshaw (Sheffield Wednesday). Linesman – J. Lewis.
(Source: Aberdeen Journal: March 31, 1908)