Warm words from Mr. W.E. Morton-Barclay

Tuesday, April 28 – 1914
Mr. W.E. Morton-Barclay (first hon. Secretary Liverpool F.C.) writes: – An old query, often answered in your paper, and still, in order to convince some of the new generation of Soccer enthusiasts, will you answer it once more? Their contention is that Wolverhampton Wanderers won the English Cup thrice in succession, confusing the Wolves with the Wanderers. I cannot convince them that the latter (long since disbanded) was the team which won the Cup thrice in succession. Your answer in print will do so. As I am writing, let me sympathise with Liverpool in just missing winning the Cup, and also sincerely and heartily congratulate the Liverpool club on the silver, nay the golden lining, to the cloud. May they have better luck from a playing point of view next season is my wish. – Answer: The Wanderers of Wolverhampton were not thrice winners of the Cup. It was another club.
(Liverpool Echo, 28-04-1914)

Note: Echo is kind of not “getting” the query. Barclay is correct. The London based The Wanderers won the FA Cup three years in a row, 1876, 1877, and 1878.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.