Blackburn Rovers for next season

Wednesday, April 29 – 1914
Blackburn Rovers have signed the following players for next season. Goalkeepers, Alfred Robinson and Jimmy Crabtree; backs, Arthur Cowell, Fred Duckworth, and Tommy Suttie; half-backs, Albert Walmsley, Percy Smith, Billy Bradshaw, Alex Bell, George Porteous, Jaques, and George Chapman; forwards, Jock Simpson, Danny Shea, Alex McGhie, Tom Byrom, Percy Dawson, Walter Aitkenhead, Eddie Latheron, Johnny Orr, and Joe Hodkinson.

The following players have been placed on the transfer list: – Langtree, goal; James Johnston, right back; McGrory, half-back; Billy Goodwin, centre forward; and J. Chapman, outside right. All receive free transfers save Johnston.

Bob Crompton will be signed during the next day or two, thus will begin his nineteenth season with the Rovers.
(Liverpool Evening Express, 29-04-1914)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.