The FA team for South Africa

Monday, April 19 ā€“ 1920
The following players have been selected by the Football Association to take part in the forthcoming tour in South Africa: –

Harold Gough (Sheffield United), Ephraim Longworth (Liverpool), John Elvey (Luton Town), Cyril Treasure (Bristol City), John Bamber (Liverpool), Bill Voisey (Millwall), T.C. Burn (London Caledonians), Jack Woodhouse (Brighton and Hove Albion), Billy Sage (Tottenham Hotspur), Bobby Turnbull (Bradford), Bill Harvey (Sheffield Wednesday), David Mercer (Hull City), Joe Smith (Bolton Wanderers), Stan Fazackerley (Sheffield United), Dick Sloley (Corinthians), Arthur Hawes (Norwich City), Bertie Davies (Swindon Town), Wilf Woodcock (Manchester United).

Messrs. John Lewis (Lancashire) and W.H. Bellamy (Lincolnshire), members of the Council, will be in charge of the team, and J. Whitley, Chelsea, will act as trainer. Nominations for more half-backs are invited by the Football Association. The team will leave Southampton on May 7, and are due home on August 9.
(Yorkshire Post and Leeds Intelligencer, 19-04-1920)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.