Close season news from Anfeld

July 10, 1922
Ground improvements are proceeding apace at Anfield. Approaches have been cemented, and “Spion Kop” has been terraced off. The centre of the paddock has been sent aside, with separate entrances for the juvenile spectators.

At the annual meeting the following list of players was announced: –
Goal: Elisha Scott, Frank Mitchell, Charles Pearson, Fred Wood.
Backs: Ephraim Longworth, Tommy Lucas, Donald Mackinlay, Ted Parry, James Kane, John Lillie, Jimmy Garner.
Half-backs: John McNab, Walter Wadsworth, Tom Bromilow, John Bamber, Frank Checkland, William Cunningham, Peter McKinney, C. Rogers, Ronald Mitchell (Skelmersdale).
Forwards: William Lacey, Dick Forshaw, Harry Chambers, Dick Johnson, Harry Lewis, George Harold Beadles, Fred Hopkin, Cyril Gilhespy, Danny Shone, Harold Wadsworth, Griff Owen, Jimmy Walsh (Stockport County). George Smith (Rochdale).
(Source: Athletic News: July 10, 1922)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.