Meeting of the Football League (June 29, 1929)

June 29, 1929
Transfer fees and benefits.
Wednesday to Sheffield Wednesday.
Mr. John McKenna, the President, presiding over a meeting of the Management Committee of the Football League, held at the Queen’s Highcliffe Hotel, Margate, this morning. Mr. H. Keys, the vice-president, was unfortunately absent through indisposition.

Free transfers by clubs were noted and confirmed as follows: – Chris Staniforth (Notts County), Tony Carr (Preston North End), William Miles (Bournemouth and Boscombe Athletic), Ronald Mitchell (Bristol Rovers), and Tom McKenna (Merthyr Town).

Haws and Shaw (Crewe Alexandra) are removed from the retained to the transfer list, while Southport reduced the transfer fees of George Harold Beadles and Kenny Sharp.

The following cases were dealt with by the Management Committee – Carlton (Newcastle United), Little (Bradford), Goucher (Nottingham Forest), Lawson (Brighton and Hove Albion), Fletcher and Strang (Crystal Palace), and Parkin (Merthyr Town) were granted free transfers.

Fees reduced.
The fees were reduced in the following instances – Johnson (Ashington), Robinson (Bradford), Murphy (Bolton Wanderers), Dixon (Bournemouth and Boscombe Athletic).

The following were reduced by the respective clubs – Hickman (Hartelpools United), Bradby (Sheffield Wednesday), Plenderleigh (Sunderland), Prince (Hull City), J. Smith (Tottenham Hotspur), and Whitter (New Brighton).

The consideration of the following applications was deferred – Arnfield (Aston Villa), Hardy (Everton), Spargo (Burnley), and Kelly (Torquay United).

The following benefits were granted – Corbett and Milne (Aston Villa), Dawson (Burnley), Heap (Bury), Harrison (Bury). After September 30, Prior (Watford and Bocking) and Boardman (Stockport County).

Accrued share of benefits have been granted to Blyth (Arsenal), Cook (Aston Villa), Boston (Bolton Wanderers), Wilkinson and Seymour (Newcastle United), Alderson (Sheffield United), Cresswell (Sunderland), Gilhespy (Bristol City), Ball and Moran (Bury), James (Preston North End), Johnstone (Reading), Baugh (West Bromwich Albion), Chadwick and Pritchard (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Douglas (Bradford), Lawton (Exeter City), Sweetman (Queens Park Rangers), Allport and Burgess (Stockport County), Bellis and Gordon Gunson (Wrexham).

It was officially reported that the Wednesday had changed their name to Sheffield Wednesday.

Changes in various league fixtures were approved, and it was decided to hold the next meeting of the Management Committee at Liverpool on Friday, August 9.
(Hartlepool Northern Daily Mail: June 29, 1929)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.