Football League meeting (October 13, 1930)

October 13, 1930
Mr. John McKenna presided at a meeting of the Management Committee of the Football League, held at Euston Hotel, this morning.

Benefits were sanctioned to: Tommy Smart (Aston Villa); Harry Bedford (Derby Couny); and Joe Harris (Newcastle United).

Accrued share of benefit was granted to Joe Robson (Grimsby); Syd Gibbons (Manchester City); Alex Massie (Bury); James Bullock (Chesterfield); and Allan Hall (Lincoln City).

The following players had their registrations cancelled by the clubs concerned:
Ward (Birmingham); Griffiths (Bolton Wanderers); Walker (Sheffield Wednesday); Dransfield (Bristol City); Gordon (Plymouth Argyle); Heasman, Hayward, Anderson, Raper, Hughes and Carter (Tottenham Hotspur); Mallett (West Bromwich); Forshaw (Wolves); Shorne (Coventry City); Bryant (Luton Town); Noakes (Southampton); Osborne, Tinghe, and Wilcock (Notts County); Hales (Thames); Mullen (Accrington Stanley); Allport (Crewe Alexandra); Dudley Harwood and Wardell (Darlington); Brandon, Nelson, McMurtie (Rotherham County); Lee (Southport); Brown, Rice, and Garner (Stockport County); Noakes (Wigan Borough); Gillespie, Linwood, and Sutton (Wrexham); and Batt (Doncaster Rovers).

George Russell (Northampton Town) was removed from the retained to the transfer list. Charlie Handley (Swansea Town) and Albert Sissons (Northampton Town) had their fees reduced by the clubs.

The next meeting of the Management Committee will be held at Liverpool on October 29, when the team to play the Scottish League at Tottenham on November 5 will be selected.
(Source: Hartlepool Northern Daily Mail: October 13, 1930)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.