Liverpool F.C. elect their leaders

June 20, 1935
Liverpool F.C. Board of Directors have decided to appoint Mr. William John Harrop chairman of the board in place of Mr. Walter Henry Cartwright, who has held the position for the past three years. Mr. James Troop has been appointed vice-chairman.

The captaincy of the team will once again be held by Ernest Blenkinsop with Tommy Cooper vice-captain in succession to Jimmy McDougall.

Blenkinsop had a most unfortunate first term of captaincy, meeting with an injury which kept him out of the side for two-thirds of the season, and which threatended to bring a premature end to his playing career. However, he is quite fit again now.
(Evening Telegraph: June 20, 1935)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.