Liverpool F.C. put seven on the transfer list

April 17, 1939
Liverpool are retaining all but seven of their players for next season. This announcement was made by the club today.

Here are the seven players who have been placed on the transfer list:
John Browning, wing half-back; Matt Fitzsimmons, full back; Richard Thornber, full-back; Cliff Lloyd, wing-half-back; Ted Harston, centre-forward; Jack Haines, centre-forward; Harry Rawcliffe, inside-forward.

The following players have been placed on the retained list, and most have already re-signed: – Goalkeepers: Arthur Riley, Dirk Kemp, Eric Mansley; full-backs: Tommy Cooper, Jim Harley, Bernard Ramsden, Keith Peters; half-backs: Matt Busby, Tom Bush, Jimmy McInnes, Fred Rogers, Jack Easdale, Stan Eastham; forwards: Berry Nieuwenhuys, Phil Taylor, Willie Fagan, Jack Balmer, Herman Van den Berg, Ron Jones, Harry Eastham, John Shafto, George Paterson, Eric Paterson, Bill Kinghorn, Cyril Done, William Pinnington, Bill Jones.

The list shows that the club is well content with the side which has done so well this season and with the young players who are coming along.

Fitzsimmons, Thornber, Lloyd, Rawcliffe and Haines have been granted free transfers.

Liverpool have signed as professional Billy Liddell, a 17 year-old outside right from Crownhill, Dunfermline. Liddell is 5ft 4ins. and 11st.
(Source: Evening Express: April 17, 1939)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.