Mr. William John Harrop for the management committee?

May 2, 1939
The nominations for elections to the Football League Management Committee, on June 5th, closed to-day. There are 14 candidates for five seats, as follows: –
Messrs. T.A. Bancroft (Blackpool), J.J. Edwards (Arsenal), George Rutherford (Newcastle United), retiring members: J. Broughton (Aston Villa), W.J. Cearns (West Ham), Arthur Drewry (Grimsby Town), A. Entwistle (Bolton Wanderers), William John Harrop (Liverpool), A. Masser (Leeds United), L.J. Nurse (West Bromwich Albion), R. Smith (Manchester City), W.H. Squires (Leicester City), W. Tempest (Blackburn Rovers), D.F. Wiseman (Birmingham).

Mr. J.F. Wright (Norwich City) was nominated, but withdrew.

There are four nominations for the two positions of vice-president – Messrs. T.A. Barcroft, M.F. Cadman (Tottenham Hotspur), A. Brook Hirst (Huddersfield Town) and Arthur Henry Oakley (Wolverhampton Wanderers).
(Source: Lancashire Evening Post: May 2, 1939; via © 2018 Findmypast Newspaper Archive Limited

William John Harrop, Liverpool F.C.
Will Harrop Liverpool F.C. 1942


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.