Liverpool F.C.: The annual meeting of 1939

June 16, 1939
Liverpool F.C.’s good year.
Retiring director’s re-elected.
When Liverpool Football Club held their annual general meeting at the Law Association Rooms, Cook Street, Liverpool, last night, Mr. William John Harrop, chairman, reporting a profit on the season of £12,824 3s. 5d. compared with a loss last year of £5,359 7s. 8d. said he had had “a bee in his bonnet” for some years.

This referred to the premiums account of £5,000, and he had promised that it would be wiped out the first good season that came along – it had now been duly done.

He said the team’s home form in the earlier part of the season had had a big effect on the profit, one of the highest in the history of the club, and he hoped that that form would predominate again next year, with an improvement in the team’s away performances. Mr. Harrop referred to the members of the club joining up as a body in the Territorials, and said there was not one fist team member affected by conscription.

This season the club had run its own programme without any outside help, and although the price had been increased to 2d. there was a profit of £250 12s. 6d.

The three retiring directors, Messrs. Walter Henry Cartwright, Richard Lawson Martindale, and William Harvey Webb, were re-elected, the auditors Messrs. Simon Jude and West, were also reappointed, and a dividend of 7½ per cent was declared.

The club’s playing strength was announced as follows: –
Professionals. –
Goalkeepers: Arthur Riley, Dirk Kemp, Eric Mansley.
Full Backs: Tommy Cooper, Jim Harley, Bernard Ramsden, Keith Peters.
Half Backs: Matt Busby, Fred Rogers, Tom Bush, James McInnes, Jack Easdale, Stan Eastham, Bob Paisley (Bishop Auckland).
Forwards: Berry Nieuwenhuys, Phil Taylor, Willie Fagan, Jack Balmer, Herman Van den Berg, Harry Eastham, Ron Jones, Eric Paterson, George Paterson, Cyril Done, Bill Jones, Bill Kinghorn, William Pinnington, John Shafto, Billy Liddell.

Amateurs. –
Goalkeeper: John Horton (Treharris, South Wales).
Full Backs: Terry Wilde (Port Sunlight), Henry Cash (Port Sunlight), Dallison Cooper (Hampshire).
Half Backs: Ray Lambert (Liverpool), Dennis Cooke (West Derby), Ronald Talbot (Burton-on-Trent), Eddie Spicer (Liverpool), James Little (Port Sunlight).
Forwards: Billy Hall (Liverpool), Ray Connah (Welsh schoolboy international), John R. Hughes (Liverpool), William Moran (Bootle JOC), Wallace Milnes (Huyton, ex Schoolboy international), William Cotton (Litherland Boys Club), Sidney Cathrall (ex. Liverpool schoolboy), George Collister (Liverpool Collegiate).
(Source: Liverpool Daily Post: June 17, 1939; via © 2018 Findmypast Newspaper Archive Limited

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.