Liverpool’s chosen against Wrexham

August 28, 1942
Liverpool had hoped to include both Jack Balmer and Willie Fagan in their attack to oppose Wrexham but neither of them is available, although they are expected to be so in a week or two.

Mr. George Kay, the club’s manager, tells me that Balmer has not quite recovered from an injury received in the last match of last season, and that Fagan will not be on leave until later.

Liverpool have now definitely decided on their eleven. It will include nine of last season’s players and two newcomers in Eric Keen and George Mills, the Derby County and Chelsea stars respectively. Keen will be at centre half and Mills will lead the attack.

Wrexham are not yet decided on the composition of their team, but it is certain that a number of “guests” stars will be included, several of them newcomers, and they will make Liverpool travel all the way. Honours may be shared here. The kick-off is at 3.15.

Liverpool: Alf Hobson, Roy Guttridge, Ray Lambert, Harry Kaye, Erick Keen, Jack Pilling, Berry Nieuwenhuys, Stan Palk, George Mills, Cyril Done, Billy Liddell.

Wrexham from: Percy Lovett (Everton), Cyril Jones, Meade, Bray, Isaac Lea (Millwall), Norman Moore (Grimsby), Arthur Turner (Birmingham), Frank Hill (Arsenal), Alan Hughes (Chesterfield), Gordon Bremner (Arsenal), Arthur Frost (Newcastle), Billy Graham (Norwich) and Frank White (Preston).
(Evening Express, 28-08-1942)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.