James Harley in the Powderhall sprint

December 6, 1943
With 228 as against 256 a year ago, entries closed today for the Powderhall New Year £100 sprint, which is to be decided on Monday, January 3.
In 1942 the entry was 118.
There is a large English entry, including N. Taylor, of Blyth, and G.H. Mitchell (Jim Harley), of Letham, the Liverpool football player, who won in 1936.
Other entrants are W. McFarlane, of Glasgow, the only runner who has ever won the handicap in successive years, which he did in 1933 and 1934, and C. Weaver, the Welsh runner.
(Evening Telegraph: December 6, 1943)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.