FA XI and RAF XI teams unchanged

January 16, 1945
No change have so far been notified in the FA and RAF teams for the Soccer representative match at Coventry on Saturday. The selected sides are: –

FA XI: Gill Merrick (Birmingham), Bert Sproston (Manchester City), Harry Kinsell (West Bromwich Albion), Neil Franklin (Stoke City), George Smith (Charlton Athletic), Joe Mercer (Everton), Frank Broome (Aston Villa), Len Shackleton (Bradford), Tommy Lawton (Everton), Maurice Edelston (Reading), Eddie Burbanks (Sunderland).

RAF: Bert Williams (Walsall), Laurie Scott (Arsenal), George Hardwick (Middlesbrough), Frank Soo (Stoke City), Alan Brown (Huddersfield Town), Bill Layton (Reading), Stanley Matthews (Stoke City), Robert “Sailor” Brown (Charlton Athletic), Jock Dodds (Blackpool), Stan Mortensen (Blackpool), Leslie Smith (Brentford).

Ted Drake (Arsenal) and Vic Buckingham (Tottenham Hotspur) will act as reserves for the FA and RAF teams. Both are RAF men.
(Liverpool Daily Post: January 16, 1945)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.