Benefit for four Liverpool players

Monday, April 16 – 1945
The Management Committee of the Football League have sanctioned benefit for 16 players. They are: Bill Kinghorn, Jimmy McInnes, Berry Nieuwenhuys, John Shafto (Liverpool); Gordon, Alex Hastings, Haywood, Alex Lockie, Johnny Spuhler, Cliff Whitelum (Sunderland); Dennis Jennings, Morris (Birmingham); R. Lewis (Watford); and Arnold Bramham, Mills and Harold Sleight (Rotherham).
(Evening Express, 16-04-1945)