Liverpool F.C.: The annual meeting of 1948

July 9, 1948
Liverpool Football club’s policy is to buy players in the right market and develop youthful talent. This was the keynote of the chairman’s speech at the fifty-sixth annual meeting of the club last night when the balance-sheet, which showed a profit on the season of £6,345, was unanimously approved.

Thirty-nine shareholders attended the meeting, presided over by Stanley Ronald Williams, and only one of them asked questions relative to the balance-sheet, dealing with transfer costs and reserve strength, and these points were dealt with quickly and satisfactorily by the chairman whose announcement of a seven and a half per cent dividend was received with applause.

The retiring directors, Messrs. William Harvey Webb, Richard Lawson Martindale and Thomas McConnell were re-elected without opposition, and the meeting closed after thirty nine minutes with Mr. George Kay, manager, reading out the list of 41 retained players as follows: –

Charles Ashcroft, Jack Balmer, Kevin Baron, Ken Brierley, Tom Bush, Russell Crossley, John Coppack, Cyril Done, John Easdale, Willie Fagan, C. Farr, Jim Harley, Laurie Hughes, Bill Jones, Ray Lambert, Billy Liddell, R. McKenzie, Doug McAvoy, John Macdonald, Jimmy McInnes, Tommy McLeod, Ray Minshull, Alex Muir, Bob Paisley, Jimmy Payne, R. Preedy, Kevin Seddon, Les Shannon, Arthur Shepherd, Bill Shepherd, Cyril Sidlow, Eddie Spicer, Albert Stubbins, Kenny Swift, Roy Saunders, Phil Taylor, Billy Watkinson, Robert Williams, Bryan Williams, R.K. Wright, Joe Cadden.
(Source: Liverpool Echo: July 10, 1948)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.