Darwen v Blackburn Rovers 4-2 (Lancashire Cup: March 20, 1880)

March 20, 1880
Match: Lancashire Cup, Final, at Barley Bank, kick-off: 15:15.
Darwen – Blackburn Rovers 4-2 (1-0).
Attendance: 8,000.
Referee: Mr. C.J. Spencer (Nottingham Forest); Umpires: Messrs. J.N. Abraham (Cheshire FA) and Robert Edward Lythgoe (Birkenhead FA).
Darwen (2-2-6): Joe Broughton, Fergus Suter (C), Jack Duxbury, W.H. Moorhouse, Sam Fish, Thomas Marshall, Tot Rostron, Dr James Gledhill, James Holden, Tom Bury, Bob Kirkham.
Blackburn Rovers (2-2-6): Roger Howarth, D. Greenwood, A. Birtwistle, Fred Hargreaves (C), W.R. Lathom, John Duckworth, Richard Birtwistle, Jimmy Brown, J. Hindle, J. Hargreaves, W. Hanson.
The goals: 1-0 Bury, 2-0 Rostron (48 min.), 3.0 Rostron.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.